Interior of Castlemoyle Books in downtown Pomeroy, Washington

From the Shelves at Castlemoyle.com

 

Original Price: $25.95
Your Price: $8.95
You Save: $17.00

 

Basilica: Splendor & Scandal Building St Peter's

 

Category: History: Europe: 16th Century

 


Author:
R A Scotti

 

Copyright/published Year: 2006 by Viking

 

Binding: Cloth


Description:
It was the splendor - and the scandal - of the age. In 1506, the ferociously ambitious Renaissance Pope Julius II tore down the most sacred shrine in Europe - the millennium-old St. Peter's Basilica built by the Emperor Constantine over the apostle's grave - to build a better basilica. Construction of the new St. Peter's spanned two centuries, embroiled twenty-seven popes, and consumed the genius of the greatest artists of the age - Michelangelo, Bramante, Raphael, and Bernini. As the basilica rose, modern Rome rose with it as glorious as the city of the Caesars. But the cost was unimaginable. The new basilica provoked the Protestant Reformation, dividing the Christian world for all time. In this swift, colorful narrative, R. A. Scotti brings to life the artists and the popes, the politics and the passions behind this audacious enterprise. Gothic cathedrals reach up to heaven, but the basilica brings heaven to earth, and the new St. Peter's was the defining event of the high Renaissance. In the tradition of Brunelleschi's Dome, Scotti turns sacred architecture into a spellbinding human epic of enormous daring, petty jealousy, and staggering genius.

 


Condition Information

This book is 'remaindered' and may have marks on the cover and/or bottom of pages.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Comments to: castlemoyle.com
© Castlemoyle Books and Gifts

Office hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (Pacific Time)
We are closed weekends and U.S. Holidays

Castlemoyle Books
694 Main Street
Mail: PO Box 520
Pomeroy WA 99347
Phone: 509-843-5009
Toll Free Orders 1-888-SPELL-86
Fax: 509-843-3183
email: info@castlemoyle.com

 

Page Name: www.castlemoyle.com/shopping/display.asp?idno=HIST35690